In Utah the legislature has decided that they don’t want to let parties who want a divorce to be able to do it quickly. Instead Utah law states that divorcing couples must wait 90 days before they are allowed to obtain a divorce decree from the judge. The presumed thinking is that making divorcing couples wait to get divorced may keep them from making brash decisions and doing something they will later regret. However flawed this theory may be the reality is that its the law, and you must wait 90 days from the date of filing before you can get a divorce. In most cases this waiting period really doesn’t come into play, especially in contested divorces because it is not likely that everything will be resolved in 90 days anyways. On the other hand, an uncontested divorce could be completed in 90 days, so if the waiting period is not waived it may be a bit of an annoyance for the filers that they need to be aware of.
Waiving Utah’s 90 day Waiting Period for Divorce
The idea that the 90 day waiting period can be waived gives a false sense of hope for people who would like to quickly terminate their marriage because the standard for obtaining a waiver is very high. Under the statute a person must show extraordinary circumstances exist to warrant a waiver of the 90 day waiting period. Although extraordinary circumstances isn’t defined its clear that simply not wanting to wait to get divorced is not a good enough reason.
Weber County Divorce Attorney | 90 Day Waiting Period
If you live in Northern Utah, such as Weber, Davis, or Cache County and are interested in possibly starting the divorce process then call Ogden Divorce Law today. We can help you understand what to expect during the divorce process and depending on your circumstances can help you get the 90 day waiting period waived. Call or email us today to find out more.
One Response to 90 Day Waiting Period