For some time now, in Utah, the law has read that those wishing to obtain a Divorce from the courts must wait 90 days before the judge can grant them said divorce. However, in the past this requirement was often waived and required a very low showing to be able to get the judge to sign off on waiving the requirement. However, the most recently legislature changed the law making it much more stringent and very difficult for most people to qualify for a waiver.
Waiting for your Divorce
The reality of this change in the law is that a lot of individuals will never even run into a problem with the 90 day waiting period because their divorce is taking much longer than 90 days already. For example, if the divorce is contested meaning the parties are fighting over any aspect of the divorce such as child custody, child support, alimony, or property division then, then there is virtually no one the divorce could be completed within 90 days anyways. However, if the divorce is uncontested and the parties are willing to sign a stipulation and settlement agreement then they often have to wait the three months after they have signed the paperwork and are ready to move on with their lives.
Northern Utah Divorce Attorney | Layton, Ogden, Bountiful, Logan
If you have gotten to a point where you think divorce is your only option and you want to know more about the process then call Ogden Divorce Law today. We serve all of Northern Utah and we can help you understand your options so you can make an informed decision. The most difficult part of the legal process can often be not knowing what you’re getting into and having unachievable expectations. With the help of one of the attorney’s at Ogden Divorce Law you can be confident that you know all the facts as you make these important decisions.